College of Letters & Science

Anthropology

Mentoring Liaison: Laurie Wilkie, Chair 
lawilkie@berkeley.edu

Demography

Mentoring Liaison: Joshua Goldstein, Chair 
josh.goldstein@berkeley.edu

Earth and Planetary Science

Mentoring Liaison: Richard Allen, Chair
rallen@berkeley.edu

Economics

Mentoring Liaison: Shachar Kariv, Chair 

kariv@berkeley.edu 

French

Mentoring Liaison: Timothy Hampton, Chair 
thampton@berkeley.edu 

Gender and Women's Studies

Mentoring Liaison: Charis Thompson, Chair 

charis@berkeley.edu 

German

Mentoring Liaison: Niklaus Largier, Professor 
nlargier@berkeley.edu 

History

Mentoring Liaison: Mark Peterson, Chair 
mark-peterson@berkeley.edu 

Integrative Biology

Mentoring Liaison: Zack Powell, Professor 
zackp@berkeley.edu

Italian

Mentoring Liaison: Barbara Spackman, Chair 
spackman@berkeley.edu 

Mentoring practices are, for the most part, informal. Other than yearly meetings between the junior faculty members and the Chair, most mentoring takes place through informal conversations. There is a very active colloquium series and many social events. The Chair mentors Associate Professors by holding yearly meetings and occasional discussions with the Dean about their status and by providing a general climate of support and exchange.

Linguistics

Mentoring Liaison: Andrew Garrett, Professor 
garrett@berkeley.edu

Mathematics

Mentoring Liaison: Alan Weinstein, Chair 
alanw@math.berkeley.edu 

There is informal mentoring for the small number of faculty who are hired at the Assistant Professor level. Senior faculty act as advisors and advocates for the junior colleagues. In addition, the Chair serves to continually advise junior faculty concerning the tenure process at Berkeley. Finally, the Department's Teaching Committee provides peer visits to faculty to assist them with adjusting to the teaching culture here.

Molecular & Cell Biology

Mentoring Liaison: David Drubin, Chair & Nipam Patel, Chair
drubin@berkeley.edu and nipam@berkeley.edu

Music

Mentoring Liaison: Cindy Cox, Chair 
cacox@berkeley.edu 

Philosophy

Mentoring Liaison: Hannah Ginsborg, Chair 
ginsborg@berkeley.edu 

Physics

Mentoring Liaison: Frances Hellman, Professor 
fhellman@berkeley.edu

Psychology

Mentoring Liaison: Steve Palmer, Professor 
palmer@cogsci.berkeley.edu

Psychology Junior Faculty Mentoring Program 

Rhetoric

Mentoring Liaison: David Bates, Chair 
dwbates@berkeley.edu 

Sociology

Mentoring Liaison: Mara Loveman, Chair and Professor 
mloveman@berkeley.edu

Spanish/Portuguese

Mentoring Liaison: Michael Iarocci, Chair 
miarocci@berkeley.edu 

The department chair appoints a senior faculty member for each new junior faculty member. Senior faculty members provide guidance on matters of networking with colleagues inside and outside the department, supporting research in the broadest sense, understanding local academic culture, etc.

Haas School of Business

Mentoring Liaison: Ganesh Iyer, Professor 
giyer@haas.berkeley.edu

College of Chemistry

Chemistry

Mentoring Liaison: David Wemmer, Chair 
dewemmer@berkeley.edu

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Mentoring Liaison: Jeffrey Reimer, Chair 
reimer@berkeley.edu

Graduate School of Education

Mentoring Liaison: gsedean@berkeley.edu

Graduate School of Education Faculty Mentoring Policy

College of Engineering

Bioengineering

Mentoring Liaison: Teresa Head-Gordon, Professor
thg@berkeley.edu 

All new faculty are assigned a faculty mentor. Mentors help integrate new faculty into the culture of the department and the campus and provide advice on all aspects of their professional development. Mentors help junior faculty to develop strategies to manage their time and balance their responsibilities in research, teaching, and service; introduce them to colleagues and potential collaborators; and provide some tips to navigating the complex Berkeley bureaucracy. Most importantly, mentors provide support and guidance during personnel reviews. 

Computer Science

Mentoring Liaison: James Demmel, Chair 
demmel@cs.berkeley.edu 

Electrical Engineering

Mentoring Liaison: Jan M. Rabaey, EE Division Chair 

jan@eecs.berkeley.edu

Industrial Engineering and Operations Research

Mentoring Liaison: Rhonda Righter, Professor 
rrighter@berkeley.edu

A climate of mentoring in which members of the department spontaneously and informally mentor new colleagues is fostered. Senior faculty members are encouraged to work with junior faculty resulting in much collaborative research. Weekly department seminars are organized by junior/senior faculty pairs, which provide an informal mentoring opportunity and help the junior faculty member establish ties to researchers outside of the university. The department chair also acts as an informal mentor, giving feedback on teaching and research.

Materials Science and Engineering

Mentoring Liaison: Mark D. Asta, Chair 
mdasta@berkeley.edu

College of Environmental Design

Architecture

Mentoring Liaison: Tom Buresh, Chair 
buresh@berkeley.edu

College of Natural Resources

Environmental Science, Policy, and Management

Mentoring Liaison: George Roderick, Chair 
roderick@berkeley.edu

School of Optometry

Mentoring Liaison: Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

School of Public Health

Mentoring Liaison: Please inquire with your department 

Goldman School of Public Policy

Mentoring Liaison: Steven Raphael, Professor 
stevenraphael@berkeley.edu

School of Social Welfare

School of Social Welfare Faculty Mentoring